Welcome Guest Login or Signup
LIVE CHAT | INSTANT MESSENGER | BOOKMARK
|LANGUAGE:



Go Back   MyModelTalk Free Casting Calls for Models and Actors! > Model Talk > Scams! > RUNWAYPLACEMENT.COM
Connect with Facebook
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2007, 08:57 AM  
RUNWAYPLACEMENT.COM SCAM : FASHION WEEK, JAY TOWNSEND
fluffy_dolphin fluffy_dolphin is offline 01-21-2007, 08:57 AM

WATCH OUT FOR THIS GUY:

FASHION SHOW SCAM – REQUIRES PURCHASE OF PICTURES TO SECURE EMPLOYMENT

www.runwayplacement.com

There is a guy who has invented a fashion event that does not exist. He asked for models, but required you to use his photographer to take your pictures in order to be in the show. The show does not exist, the venue he said the show was going to be at does not exist, and everything about the guy is a scam. He just wants you take pictures with his photographer and take your money. When I wanted to be in the show, all he wanted was for me to buy pictures from his photographer. I don’t know if the photographer knows that this guy is a scam or not, so I won’t mention him (YET…), but the guy putting it all together is a scam artist and you NEED TO KNOW so he doesn’t get your money. He runs the scam here, in California, Dallas, in Oregon and in Washington.

Quotes from his and "amy's" emails to me: “You need to get professional photos first!!”
"You need to shoot with [name of photographer removed] or Jace will not use you in the show." “we do not like working with other photographers”

When I asked to BUY a ticket to go to the show to watch and offered to help, they answered an email with:
“NO, you are not a hi fashion model and no you can not buy your way
in...” “we do not need your help, so just buzz off please!”

The event is called SAN DIEGO FASHION WEEK or SAN DIEGO INTERNATIONAL FASHION WEEK, Winter Formal Portland

The guy trying to set up the event is "JACE" or "JTM" or “JAY” or "Jay Townsend"

His website is listed to:
Whois info for, runwayplacement.com:
Registrant:
Corbin Carvel Media, LLC
61332 Sparrow Ct
Bend, OR 97702
US
Domain name: RUNWAYPLACEMENT.COM
Administrative Contact:
Townsend, Jay jay.townsend@corbincarvel.com
61332 Sparrow Ct
Bend, OR 97702
US
+1.54519615288
Technical Contact:
Hostmaster, Hostmaster hostmaster@aismedia.com
7000 Central Parkway
Suite 1700
Atlanta, GA 30346
US
+1.7703507998 Fax: +1.7703509409


He sends out emails pretending to a fashion booker "AMY" from a company called RUNWAY PLACEMENT

They have a web page with no info at http://www.runwayplacement.com/

They use the following myspace pages:
http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm...endid=42145591
http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm...ndid=107922500

They use and have used the following emails: sandiegomodels@gmail.com , amy@runwayplacement.com , runwayplacement@gmail.com , bookingpro@gmail.com , winterformalportland@gmail.com ,

They use a phone number of 6198691806 , (619) 869-1806, 323-973-3037
619-869-1806, (same number but so you can search on it)

They said the event was going to be at 416 4th Avenue in San Diego (no such place)

They have run this same or similar scam in Seattle, Portland, San Diego and Dallas

He says he lives in LA JOLLA- he actually lives at the alcoholic halfway house on Island Street in San Diego (he originally had demos and photos sent there in a previous craigslist posting ): http://www.nosdco-aa.org/links/detox.shtml

Don’t let him take your money- If he wants you to be in show ask him WHEN AND WHERE IT IS AND HOW MUCH IT PAYS. When he can’t answer tell him to “buzz off”.

Don’t PAY to be in a fashion show!!!! and pass the word on to shut him down

Another report from another watchdog:
http://blog.myspace.com/index.cfm?fu...9-06e8db33e05b

 
fluffy_dolphin's Avatar
fluffy_dolphin
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 27
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Views: 3308
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 05:10 PM   #6
 
fluffy_dolphin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 27
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 fluffy_dolphin is infamous around these parts
Default And one more they just put up....

http://portland.craigslist.org/wsc/tlg/268570319.html

Does anyone know anyone over at Portland's Z-100?
fluffy_dolphin is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 05:59 AM   #7
 
DigitalMocking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 27
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 DigitalMocking is infamous around these parts
Default

It looks like these folks are back again, but they're getting a little smarter. Their craigslist adds are less specific and they're using a less aggressive approach when you talk to them.

Jay is now James, he's got a new phone number, but in Portland, its still the same horrible photographer he was using before, Nicole Cook. James is now the head of "model placements" of beverly hills, using a new 424 cell phone number.


http://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/tfr/289145484.html
http://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/tfr/291807999.html

My wife talked on the phone to someone named "james" who said his company was "model placements" in beverly hills, he's the one who referred us to nicole cook. She'd have to be in on the scam as you pay her.

There are a few more bits:

1) Her fee is "usually" 300 dollars, but because he's going to pay $100 of her normal fee from a 'model scholarship fund' he has to help new models, but whatever we do, don't mention this to her until after the shoot is done that we're getting the 'special' price.
2) it HAS to be done within the next 48 hours.
3) the show he's recruiting for is on the 24th and 25th in seattle, but no show name given.
DigitalMocking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 01:33 AM   #8
 
cooknicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 27
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 cooknicole is infamous around these parts
Default

I work with him as a photographer and I have been to fashion shows he puts on and they are legitimate and models that do work with him are getting gigs. But the point of the matter is he's not trying to scam anyone that I know of. I take pictures and people pay me for my service and then get a disk of all the images. I'm sorry if you thought you could get in the industry and not have to shell out any cash for starting a career but it's not that simple. Lots of models pay to have their pictures done and then some also modeling schools charge you an arm and a leg to get nothing but schooling. I understand you may be frustrated but know this that it is not a scam!
cooknicole is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 01:45 AM   #9
 
cooknicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 27
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 cooknicole is infamous around these parts
Default

It's horrible that you think I am horrible but my services are not a scam. You pay me for my photography and my time and you get images the same day you pay for them.
cooknicole is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 04:18 AM   #10
 
cooknicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 27
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 cooknicole is infamous around these parts
Default

I really don't appreciate my name being affilated with him. I do not know him or work for him I am simply contracted through his company to take pictures for his models. That's like acusing the mailman for delivering bad mail. It's not his fault the mail is bad, all he does is deliver the mail.

My name is Nicole Cook
I do not work for this company.
I am a local professional photographer living and working in Portland, OR
I am not a scam nor am I out to scam people
I simply provide a service and in turn give people a disk of their images

You can view my work and references at these sites:

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm...endid=28769113

http://www.flickr.com/photos/photoportphotography/
cooknicole is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
© 2005-2008 , MyModelTalk.com. All rights reserved



*** MyModelTalk.com is The Entertainment and Fashion Industry's Community ***

Your Ad Here

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153