Welcome Guest Login or Signup
LIVE CHAT | INSTANT MESSENGER | BOOKMARK
|LANGUAGE:







Go Back   MyModelTalk Free Casting Calls for Models and Actors! > Model Talk > Scams!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2006, 04:09 PM   #1
Learn something from www.newmodels.com
 
Angelus's Avatar
Angelus
Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States - Georgia
Age: 32
Posts: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Show Printable Version Email this Page
Angelus Angelus is offline 12-02-2006, 04:09 PM
Rating: ()

Please read this website you guys.
http://newmodels.com/myths.html

I've read through these forums and I understand that you guys need to avoid scams...but in a panic to address the negatives, you still mislead the information. In other words...to avoid certain scams, some of you are spreading urban myths.

You're falling victim in the middle of a war.
Scammers verse Second Party Info.



I will add
Most of the companies named as scams are and I'm glad you are pointing it out. But, when you challenge someone or something, you have to come will full facts and not from what is your opinion nor what you heard somewhere.

Most recent myth I've read.
For example:
Quote:
"If they want you. They'll pay for you."
I can't name one legitimate agency that does this on a regular basis. And, when they do, it's very rare.
Agencies don't have the overhead to "pay" for talent. You are responsible for your own marketing, pictures, compcard, lookbooks, website (including modelwire which most top agencies use nowadays to showoff their talent to clients...and it isn’t cheap.), etc...when applicable.
And, all services offered should be OPTIONAL, never mandatory. Even with a smaller agent.
Quote:
Everything is up for negotiation.
BUT not much negotiation. If a reputable agent likes you they will hear out your concerns and work with you to a degree.

And each agency has it's own list of things that you the talent pay for.
But....two things you will always be financially responsible for are pictures (with prints) and compcards. Maybe you can test or tfp to get your images free...and that's great. But understand that models DO in fact have financial responsibilities. Your portfolio should be paid to the photographer or photography studio. And your compcards can either be paid to your agent (as they will place their logo on it) or they will give you a .pdf file with their logo and design which you then take the printers. And most agencies don't mind you doing so.

Problem with doing tfp's verses tests or shooting with non-agency approved photographers.
http://newmodels.com/TFP.html
Quote:
"The agency photographer is chosen because he knows how to take the kinds of pictures we need. Models are notorious for being unable to make good choices of photographers or photographic style. They don’t know what they really need, who can provide it, and how to make sure they get it from a photoshoot."

The problem with myths is....you go into Wilhemina or Next or Q Models for ex. and you are told any one of these...you'll be shocked and be ready to scream "foul."
Then you just lost your shot with them.

This is why scams aren't as cut and dry to dispute or call out. And why they STILL seem to work on so many people. The area of separation is too gray. Presentation and professionalism are usually the most obvious traits. Everything else is a little more ambiguous.

When you are with an agency or client or leaving your contact info on the web for a casting (which you should NEVER do/ I saw a couple phone numbers on here and this in NOT even where most of these castings originated.)...do your "Due Diligence" FIRST!!! Please!

http://newmodels.com
Please read this website and all of it's articles...it's not law...but it's a great starting point until you're are confident and aware enough to learn and go at it on your own.

Then it's all on you.

I've been an agency model (before the boom of the internet) and worked with large to small clients.



Good luck guys.
I want to see those with potential make the best of it and not miss an opportunity because of being given the wrong info. You can get scammed on both sides if you’re not careful.

Angelus aka CEA
http://myspace.com/wrekkastow
http://modelmayhem.com/member.php?id=41030
Views: 1397
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 11:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default Scams/Frauds/Witchhunts/ and Modeling

Well guys, i'm making this post an announcement becuase the information is just that good. One of things I want to avoid are withchunts. It's good to post in the "WatchList" if you have concerns or to post in this section known "scams". But you have to be careful about labeling. Make sure you tell the whole situation and what you've been through and are basing everything on FACT and not disappointment or emotion.

Reputation means everything in this buisness and I don't want to harm reputations over emotion or disappointment. Remember a lot of people count on MMT for factual informaition so things discussed here have a very powerful impact.

Again for informaiton on SCAMS you may want to visit:

http://www.modelingscams.org/

Better yet read this post which has links to other helpful sites on SCAMS:
http://jobs.mymodeltalk.com/viewtopic.php?t=3256
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 04:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Shoval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 26
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 Shoval is infamous around these parts
Default OneSourceTalent.com

Hi, I was wondering is onesourcetalent.com was a scam? Does anyone know anything about it?

Thanks!
Shoval is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Old 12-07-2006, 05:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: OneSourceTalent.com

not sure. You should start a new thread in the "Watchlist" section and ask the question. Preffereably with thier name in the title so people easily identify it and respond to you.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoval
Hi, I was wondering is onesourcetalent.com was a scam? Does anyone know anything about it?

Thanks!
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 06:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Angelus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States - Georgia
Age: 32
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 10 Angelus is on a distinguished road
Default Re: OneSourceTalent.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoval
Hi, I was wondering is onesourcetalent.com was a scam? Does anyone know anything about it?

Thanks!
I hate using the word scam because it makes you liable if they try to sue. But, OneSource formely Wilhemina Scouting Network since the boom of the internet, has a reputation of not providing what they promise and notorious for the bait-and-switch technique. Represent themselves as scouts to get you in and offer you certain service for a nominal fee.

I advise against doing business with them, but in the end it is still your choice and I can only give you the advice and my recommendations. I never dealt with them but have many friends and associates who have taken chances. I'm a third party.

The closest I came to them was a few years back, where out of the blue I was solicited by WSN to start my own franchise agency or become a scout for them online selling portfolios and webpages to aspsiring models, actors adn dancers for several $100s and even a couple $1,000. I politely ignored them.


Usually you can do a google search to find info on a company that may be in question. Go to google and search for them like this.
Ex. Company name or website "scam"
That's it.

Type it in just this way to make the search more precise.
And if you get nothing directly related then tract the links that have both "scam" and the company's name in to read any reviews of such.

Using this for Once Source I got several links located at this url.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...=Google+Search
Angelus is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.mymodeltalk.com/jobs/scams/3626-learn-something-www-newmodels-com.html
Posted By For Type Date
Scams! [Archive] - MyModelTalk Free Casting Calls for Models and Actors! This thread Refback 07-30-2008 10:18 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
© 2005-2008 , MyModelTalk.com. All rights reservedAd Management by RedTyger



*** MyModelTalk.com is The Entertainment and Fashion Industry's Community ***

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105