Welcome Guest Login or Signup
LIVE CHAT | INSTANT MESSENGER | BOOKMARK
|LANGUAGE:



Go Back   MyModelTalk Free Casting Calls for Models and Actors! > Model Talk > Watch List
Connect with Facebook
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2009, 11:19 PM  
Wilhelmina of PA
broxholm21 broxholm21 is offline 06-30-2009, 11:19 PM

I'm receiving conflicting information on an agency I recently talked to.

I went to a casting call for Wilhelmina of PA recently and was accepted into the agency. The agency is run by Kelli Harman, and after doing a background check on her, I came across the following information which made me believe the whole thing was a scam:

Centre Daily Times archives

But more recently I did a search on Wilhelmina's official website and found out that she really is a legitimate affiliate of Wilhelmina models:

http://www.wilhelmina.com/licensees.cfm

The problem is, there are some up front fees I would have to pay: photos, classes, etc, coming to a total of over $1500. I was told to avoid agencies that made you pay these fees before actually getting a job. However, I was told at the casting call that these fees are tax deductible as business expenses and could be written off when I filed my taxes. So it's like an investment more than a cost.

I'm so confused about this. I'm new to modeling and don't really know where to go from here. Plus I'm a COMPLETELY broke college student and can't afford any scams. If you could give me your opinion based on this information, I'd really appreciate it!!!

Thanks a lot!

 
broxholm21's Avatar
broxholm21
I don't post much...
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United States - Pennsylvania
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Views: 548
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 06:52 PM   #6
Administrator
 
mykkal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States - Georgia
Age: 33
Posts: 1,623
Thanks: 15
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Rep Power: 10 mykkal is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wilhelmina of PA

Gotcha... well i'm not sure they are doing anything wrong honestly. Models have to expect to make an substantial investment in their portfolio. Especially if they are new and have no images.

However an agency should recommend the photographers (& any other services) and not force any talent to use any particular service. Sometimes agencies do this becuase they are making money on the backend with the photographer.

Wilhelmina Models is an outstanding agency with great work. I don't know Kelli Harman (personally) or her background but the name Wilhelmina is very well known. If the agency signs you I would be cautious but very optimistic and truly excited.

The only background information concerning a dispute about Kelli is on easybackgroundcheck.com which isn't a very reliable site. In fact I've heard from more then one person in the industry that the site is used to extort money from those they post on. Basically charging those named on their site to remove the posting. I'm not sure if this is true or not but if this is where the information is coming from I would definitely trust Kelli Harmon or any random person more then that site.
mykkal is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 11:21 PM   #7
I don't post much...
 
allyoursphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States - Ohio
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0 allyoursphoto is infamous around these parts
Default Re: Wilhelmina of PA

Have you checked with the local Better Business Bureau? It's a great place to get unbiased info on a business.

Legit agencys will charge for their services, but should not require that you use their vendors for training, photos, etc.

There are a lot of "agency"s that accept virtually everyone that comes in the door so that they can sell some pricy trainings and photoshoots, regardless of the odds that they will succeed in the modeling business.
allyoursphoto is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Agency Open Call - Pennsylvania - Wilhelmina of PA Model Casting Call mykkal Model Castings & Acting Auditions (Nationwide) 0 06-17-2009 01:56 PM
Agency Open Call - Pennslyvania - Wilhelmina of PA Model Casting Call mykkal Model Castings & Acting Auditions (Nationwide) 0 06-03-2009 06:40 PM
Wilhelmina Scouting Network (Formerly TCT Talent) Wilhelmina Scouting Network 9 07-01-2007 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
© 2005-2008 , MyModelTalk.com. All rights reserved



*** MyModelTalk.com is The Entertainment and Fashion Industry's Community ***

Your Ad Here

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156