I'm receiving conflicting information on an agency I recently talked to.
I went to a casting call for Wilhelmina of PA recently and was accepted into the agency. The agency is run by Kelli Harman, and after doing a background check on her, I came across the following information which made me believe the whole thing was a scam:
Centre Daily Times archives
But more recently I did a search on Wilhelmina's official website and found out that she really is a legitimate affiliate of Wilhelmina models:
http://www.wilhelmina.com/licensees.cfm
The problem is, there are some up front fees I would have to pay: photos, classes, etc, coming to a total of over $1500. I was told to avoid agencies that made you pay these fees before actually getting a job. However, I was told at the casting call that these fees are tax deductible as business expenses and could be written off when I filed my taxes. So it's like an investment more than a cost.
I'm so confused about this. I'm new to modeling and don't really know where to go from here. Plus I'm a COMPLETELY broke college student and can't afford any scams. If you could give me your opinion based on this information, I'd really appreciate it!!!
Thanks a lot!